Ten New Zealand Series selected for US Storieroad International program

Script to Screen in partnership with US-based Catalyst Story Institute is proud to announce the New Zealand finalists selected to participate in the Storieroad International program.

Storieroad International program is focused on discovering content creators and advancing creative careers within the global episodic marketplace. Philip Gilpin Jr, Catalyst Executive Director explains “Creating pathways for storytellers to have their voices heard is the heart of Catalyst’s mission. For too long, too many artists have felt a lack of connection to our television industry, and this collaboration with Script to Screen is a solution that gives creators opportunities for advancement”.

Applicants had to be developing a series. It could be any genre, length or format and at any stage of development including development of subsequent seasons.

Catalyst’s team of industry professionals selected up to 10 finalists and semi-finalists from each participating country including New Zealand, and their projects will be in competition at the 2021 Catalyst Content Festival in Duluth, Minnesota. The finalists get a 12-month scholarship to Catalyst Story Institute where they get US-based industry support to progress their project. Philip said “the incredibly high calibre of shows submitted from New Zealand made it difficult to choose only ten, and it shows that the raw talent level in New Zealand is in the top echelon of the independent creative world.”

Jackie Dennis, Executive Director of Script to Screen said “we entered into this partnership to create international connections for the exceptional talent we have here in New Zealand – it’s wonderful to see so many of our stories stand out”. Ahead of the international market, the finalists will present their ten projects to New Zealand screen industry professionals at a special invite-only showcase.

List of Finalists :

(Pictured left to right above)

Agnes Peel-McGregor with Shadowodd
Ahi Karunaharan and Maile Daugherty with Serenade
Alyssa Stringfellow with Chloe and the…
Emma Slade with Night Vision
Jake Pitcher with Don’t Tell Mum
Kathryn Burnett with Sleeper
Mia Maramara with The Witch Doctor
Millen Baird with Darryl
Paula Whetu Jones with I DATE Rejects
Stephen Campbell with The Cove

More info about the finalists  here.

List of Semi Finalists :

Alexander Behse with Sugar Alpha: BLUE SKY, BLACK DEATH
Donald Mayo with Please Don’t Break Anything
Fiona Armstrong with Constance
Gaylene Barnes with Tātai Whetū Trinity Sun
Jonathan Watt with Hard Knock 
Kip Chapman with Public Affairs
Louise Lever with Revolt She Said
Millen Baird with Naki Blues
Paul Kalburgi with Second Time Around
Slavko Martinov with CLUB LIFE
Tony Moore with The Rash
Vhari Lennox and Elana Tkatch with Lottie’s Choice


This is a Catalyst Story Institute initiative run in partnership with Script to Screen and in collaboration with “The Innovation Station” at the U.S. Department of State and Careers in Entertainment founded by the Will and Jada Smith Family Foundation.

The Auckland showcase is possible thanks to the US Consulate.



Read more about the finalists



Stay informed on latest news and events



* indicates required
Field of Work (tick all that apply)

Script to Screen will use the information you provide on this form to send information and reminders about Talks, Workshops, Mentorships, and any other events or news we have. Please opt in here: