Meet the participants selected for FilmUp 2022

This year marks our tenth year of the FilmUp mentorship programme, and we are delighted to announce the 2022 participants who join this growing community.

Script to Screen engaged three external selectors to read all of the applications and select 8 participants who show exceptional skill in the work they are making and who have a project in development that excited them.

The selected participants listed below will be matched with a filmmaker mentor to develop their project. They will also participate in a series of six FilmUp Hubs that include round tables, workshops, and group work as part of the eight-month programme tailored to the group’s needs.

We congratulate this year’s participants and thank all the filmmakers who applied.

The 8 filmmakers selected for FilmUp 2022:
(Pictured left to right above)
  • Marina Alofagia McCartney
    Writer/Director – Feature Film
  • Tom Augustine
    Writer/Director – Feature Film
  • Maddie Dai
    Writer – Feature Film
  • Emma Mortimer
    Producer – Feature Film
  • Nicholas Riini 
    Writer – Feature Film
  • Rajneel Singh
    Writer/Director – Feature Film
  • Celestina Sumby
    Writer – Feature Film
  • Kim Webby
    Writer/Director/Producer – Feature Film

FilmUp is made possible thanks to funding from The New Zealand Film Commission





Stay informed on latest news and events



* indicates required
Field of Work (tick all that apply)

Script to Screen will use the information you provide on this form to send information and reminders about Talks, Workshops, Mentorships, and any other events or news we have. Please opt in here: